Overview

Effective April 1, 2019, a new NY State law requires all NEW or REPLACEMENT smoke detectors in New York State to be powered by a 10-year, sealed, non-removable battery, or hardwired to the home.  

 

14.1.1. Inspection

Homeowners and landlords must upgrade their smoke detectors before selling or renting homes and apartments in New York State. For occupied apartments and common areas, the superintendent should inspect and replace each unit throughout the building 30 days prior to the 10year manufacturers expiration date of the smoke detector.